I heard this the other day and it spoke volumes to me, “separation is a sure sign of elevation.”

Several months ago, I felt a tugging at my heart to relinquish the “reverence” I’d placed on certain relationships in my life. Honestly, I was reluctant to give it a try. I mean, who would I talk too, who would I confide in, who would simply be there? However, questioning God doesn’t get anyone much of anywhere, so I followed my heart.

For me, I finally left the guy I’d been on and off with for the past three and half years. Truly one of my best friends who knows more about me than most. It broke my heart to know that I finally had to let him go. At one point, I found so much solace, peace and certainty in just talking to him. Nonetheless, in the end those feelings had begun waning away.

Furthermore, my best friends started hearing from me less and eventually that led to them seeing me less. Seemingly, I fell out of the best friend circle, which I sensed happening anyways. There were no hard feelings as I realized we’re in different places in our lives. There are things mutually we didn’t and don’t confide in one another about anymore, as there are also struggles and joys I’ve experienced without them. And hear me when  say this, I would love for them to have shared and share in some of these moments but I also know that obedience to God comes before any desire and emotion!

The past few months have felt lonelier than ever. I’ve seriously wondered if God has forgotten my needs of someone to talk too or to even hang out with on occasion. All my life I’ve been in relationships and I’ve had the same few friends. I haven’t acquired much more over the years as I felt it pointless. But, you can imagine my current thoughts on that. LOL.

But, I did a little “soul searching” and it finally came to me. We have to realize that whatever God does, is always for our good. He never takes anything without having something to replace it. The Holy Spirit never gives us a conviction that leads us wrong and that is why trusting God’s plan is so important. Some people, places and things are there for a reason and a season, and sometimes, they simply can’t go where God is taking you. 1 John 2:19 says, “They went out from us, but they were not of us; for if they had been of us, they would no doubt have continued with us: but they went out, that they might be made manifest that they were not all of us.” (KJV).

When God begins to take you to new levels in Him and He has lessons and things that He needs to impart into you, all distractions and hinderances have to be removed. Imagine this, Jesus literally wanting to walk with you, side by side, on this new journey, whatever it is you’re going. However, you’re so caught up in the people and things that you think should be with you, that you miss Him and what it is He’s trying to give to you. That’s exactly what happen to the two individuals in Luke chapter 24. Jesus was literally walking and talking with them, and because their eyes and hearts were filled with sorrow and unbelief, they missed that moment of really being with Jesus. They had not trusted that Jesus was who He said He was.

This brings me back to my original quote, “separation is a sure sign of elevation.” Let God do what he does, especially in this season. Don’t worry about what people think of you or even what they have to say. Don’t let a blessing become held up because you can’t get past “lonely.” Jesus will always be a friend indeed. He is always there with us no matter how we may feel. Maybe spending more time with Him will help those feelings of loneliness to eventually subside over time. I’m not saying you can’t desire friendships and companionship but understand that God is trying to do some amazing things in your life and if you just let Him, what’s on the other side will be far greater than you could envision. 1 Corinthians 2:9 “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, Nor have entered into the heart of man, The things which God has prepared for those who love Him.” (NKJV)

But I’m All Alone

Leave a Reply

