Don’t Settle

img_0549

Do you know how often people say, “don’t settle”? I hear it so much that I feel like it’s just a reflex connotation used to dissuade people from doubt. I personally think the phrase has become so convoluted that people become confused as to whether they’re settling, within God’s will or shooting their shot a little too high.

Now to start this thing off correctly, I think we should define the meaning of settling. Settling means to sit or come to rest in a comfortable position; begin to feel comfortable or established. In my honest opinion, people have confused settling with contentment in one’s portion. Philippians‬ ‭4:11-12‬ ‭says, “Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.” I didn’t say it, but the Apostle Paul did, he learned to be content in whatever state! Why is it that we feel the need for more, but that need for more isn’t what’s going to spiritually edify us, benefit the body of Christ or contribute to our kingdom assignment.

Hear me loud and clear, there is nothing wrong with having dreams, goals and desires, because trust I have a list a mile long. LOL. But there is something wrong with desiring and dreaming for all the wrong reasons. But even with that, there will always be a development phase and a molding process. People don’t just wake up one day and become successful business owners, become married, become the next Lebron James or even become ministers. The Prophet Jeremiah speaks of this very process of development in Jeremiah chapter 18. He’s instructed by God to go down to the potter’s house where he sees the potter creating vessels. ““O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter?” says the LORD. “Look, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are you in My hand, O house of Israel!” Jeremiah‬ ‭18:6‬

God realizes we’re invaluable pieces of clay without Him. We can’t live our lives focused on, “don’t settle,” or trying to appease those around us who’ve assumed we have settled. Seeking Godly counsel is so important. You shouldn’t have people speaking into and about your life that don’t truly know you, where you are currently in life, where you’re seeking to go in life and most importantly, are they speaking a word from God? I know sometimes it’s hard to consider these things when you began speaking to others about your life, because I too struggle with this. I’ve realized lately that God has been checking me. I get this conviction in my spirit like, whatever I’ve spoken over your life isn’t for the whole world to know, let them see the manifestation of me!

“Hear counsel, and receive instruction, that thou mayest be wise in thy latter end. There are many devices in a man’s heart; nevertheless the counsel of the Lord, that shall stand.” Proverbs‬ ‭19:20-21‬ ‭- This is why you can’t go around listening to every Lisa, Chris and Mark!

Essentially, I don’t want any of you ladies to settle! But I also don’t want you feel compelled to move out of the position God currently has you, therefore, resetting whatever work He has began and pushing your blessing back. Don’t get wrapped up in what people may say or even think, get wrapped up in the counsel of our Lord.

I feel strongly about this topic. Since quitting my full time job and working part-time for the past few months, I feel like everyone around me has put in their mind that I’m settling and that it’s a shame I am where I am. I’d be a lie if I said it didn’t bother me to hear how some of my own family members have talked about me as if I’m a failure. However, I don’t feel the need to take the time out to explain anything to them either. God hasn’t given me that conviction and I’m perfectly fine with that. I’m trusting God with my future because He’s the one that holds it anyway. Lauren Daigle says in her song Trust in You, “There’s not a day ahead You have not seen.” How powerful is that?

Speaking from the perspective of someone that’s in their 20’s, these years can be rough and many of us are just trying to figure it out. Your journey won’t be like others but it will be your own. Embrace that and remember, “… let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.” Galatians‬ ‭6:9‬

Let me know if you have questions or any feedback. Know that I love you and I’m praying for you!!

Leave a Reply

