If I could just touch the hem!

I was literally driving tonight, and the title of this blog popped into my head as I was praying for someone. The title is so powerful because in Mark chapter 5, a woman with a sickness of the blood touches the hem of Jesus’ garment and she’s immediately healed. However, that’s not even the best part. Jesus hadn’t even known that the woman touched Him, but he felt some of His power had gone. He began inquiring of His disciples as to whom had touched his garment, which He then finds is the woman with the sickness of blood. “And He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has made you well. Go in peace, and be healed of your affliction.”” Mark‬ ‭5:34

This is a great segway into our topic of the evening, promiscuity. I know you’re wondering well what does this have to do with the woman with the sickness of blood? Well, her yearning to be healed from her sickness, which was manifested through her faith!So many woman have resorted to promiscuity as a means to fulfill emptiness, feel loved and to boost self-esteem. Sadly, promiscuity brings none of these hoped for attributes. As always, I write about issues that either afflict me or have once afflicted me. Although, promiscuity is no longer something I struggle with, temptation and even lust are things I’m still working on.

It was Fall of 2011 and I’d just broken up with my abusive boyfriend (that’s a story for another day) and I’d decided that I’d use my junior year making up for lost time. Being tied down to one person for the past two years who not only controlled me but caused me to miss a significant portion of my college years, was the only fuel I needed to live it up. Not realizing that I was broken and unequipped to have successful relationships, I still desired one or a piece of one. Over the next couple of years the guys would come and go, however, three were consistently inconsistently. Promiscuity had established its place in my life. I slept with different guys and carried on situationships in hopes of them one day becoming relationships. I remained single throughout my junior and senior year of college. My promiscuity revealed my low-self esteem and search to fill voids only God could fill.

I felt empty, I felt numb and I felt lonely. I was in search of something, fulfillment most of all, not even aware that it comes through Christ alone. Christ would have even solidified His role as the man in my life had I let Him. I’d opened the door to lust, temptation, sexual perversion, fornication and even masturbation. But the Bible tells us, “Flee sexual immorality. Every sin that a man does is outside the body, but he who commits sexual immorality sins against his own body.” 1 Corinthians‬ ‭6:18‬ ‭Nevertheless, these things kept me in bondage and not once did I ever think of myself as promiscuous. The craziest part about it all, the girls I hung with in college weren’t even having sex, but me, I was proud to be the non-virgin.

You see the issue with promiscuity isn’t just the sex itself, it’s the consequences of sex outside of marriage. Aside from from the physical consequences of STD’s and out of wedlock pregnancies, the emotional, mental and spiritual affects can far outweigh the physical. Every time you lay down with someone outside of marriage, you create soul ties; the person takes apart of you in which you can never get back. “Or do you not know that he who is joined to a harlot is one body with her? For “the two,” He says, “shall become one flesh.”” 1 Corinthians‬ ‭6:16‬ The worst part is the exchange of unclean spirits. You don’t know what other individuals these guys have slept with, nor do you know what things they may be dealing with internally. ““When an unclean spirit goes out of a man, he goes through dry places, seeking rest, and finds none. Then he says, ‘I will return to my house from which I came.’ And when he comes, he finds it empty, swept, and put in order. Then he goes and takes with him seven other spirits more wicked than himself, and they enter and dwell there; and the last state of that man is worse than the first. So shall it also be with this wicked generation.”” Matthew‬ ‭12:43-45‬ 

All of these things, I’ve dealt with. Trying to break soul ties and figure out why I’m dealing with issues than never presented themselves a problem in the past were definitely the hardest. To be honest, still are the hardest things I deal with from opening doors to many of these issues. Had I known the things I know now, I would have saved myself for my future husband. It would have saved me so much heartache and pain. It’s honestly one of the things in my life that made me feel the most shameful. I used to think, how would I tell my future husband about this? How would he react? You know what God revealed to me, the man He has ordained to be my husband won’t be caught up in my past because he knows he’s apart of my future. 

If you’re dealing with any of this, I encourage you to seek God for deliverance. Don’t get caught up in what you think people might say. The Bible says, “Let the redeemed of the LORD say so, Whom He has redeemed from the hand of the enemy,” Psalms‬ ‭107:2‬ There is no condemnation in Christ. He wants to heal us and redeem us. You no longer have to broken. You no longer have to give your body to different men based on “you like them” or they like you! Marriage is the standard and requirement for sex. It’s so hard to know someone on an intimate level when you’ve opened a gateway to fornication. It’s hard to separate emotions once sex is involved. It’s also harder to let someone go once sex is involved.

Step out on faith and trust God. If only you could touch the hem of His garment. No more longing to be loved, no more longing to fill voids, no more esteem issues, NO MORE! I’m not promising the walk will be easy or that it will even be a speedy process, but what I can promise you is that God sees your suffering and wants to give you peace. He’ll be with you every step of the way. If temptation comes again, He always gives us away out. “No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.” 1 Corinthians‬ ‭10:13‬

I’m open to discussion or if you want to contact me personally to talk or even want me to pray for you, please let me know. There’s power in the name of Jesus. I’m hoping that my story will only be the beginning of a new start.

Leave a Reply

