Everyone seems to be propelling forward but me…


When I turned 25 in January of 2016, I had hoped to be in my dream career with a fine husband by my side. However, my life didn’t quite look like that. I was working at a mundane, mediocre job, unhappy with my pay and single as a dollar! All around me and on social media it felt like everyone had in someway moved on to the next phase of life, great career, engaged or married, starting families, traveling the world, etc. I mean, I’ve done some traveling over the years but not world travels, and the rest just weren’t even in my sights.

I began to look at my life and think, what a disappointment. All the years of college, all the failed relationships, all the hard-work, all the sacrifices and the amount of obedience I’d submitted to God. How could he not have known my heart, my prayers? Or so I thought. It was frustrating and I began letting my emotions control my thoughts. I began to doubt God, and had even considered that he’d probably forgotten about me because of all my wrongdoings over the years. That was my flesh speaking. When we become saved and we truly repent for our sins, they’re forgotten. God no longer lingers on past sins, nor is there condemnation in Christ. When shame and regret begin to creep in, it’s not of God. He may convict us but never shame us. It’s a ploy of the enemy to make you question God and even worse, turn from His Word altogether. 

As I began to ponder a little bit more on my life and the thought of where I was, God began to reveal things to me. God does not work on our timing nor does he work in our realm of understanding. You see, had I been in my Word a little more, I would’ve known to, “Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart, All you who hope in the LORD.” ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭31:24‬
We cannot compare our lives to that of others. Your journey is not theirs and your testimony is not theirs. Be happy with your portion! Know that the race set before you is yours alone, which is why you cannot relish in and envy another’s accomplished life phases! The Bible tells us, “…let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,” ‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭12:1‬

Stop holding onto where you think your life should be. Quite honestly, it’s exactly where God knew you’d be. When he’s planning a great blessing for you, it takes great preparation! “But as it is written: “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, Nor have entered into the heart of man The things which God has prepared for those who love Him.” ‭‭I Corinthians‬ ‭2:9‬

Are you letting Him prepare you? Is your heart positioned correctly? Do you want what you see just because you think everyone else has it? I myself had to realize that photographs on social media are literally captured moments in time. Majority of people only put what they want you to see; their best!! 

Coming to an end in 2016 I’ve learned so much and the Lord has truly imparted into some amazing things in me, which I’m sure he plans to continue in 2017. Although, I’m currently working part-time and on the verge of 26, I remain confident in knowing that God has my future in his hands. In the times I feel like I’m stagnant, discouraged and unfruitful in my harvest, I remember what the Lord has declared, “Behold, I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? I will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert.” ‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭43:19‬

Trust that if it’s not okay, the Lord is not yet done! He preparing to create rivers in your wilderness ladies! Don’t get caught up in the future so much that you miss what he’s trying to do now! Wouldn’t it be a shame to miss God in this season because you were so caught up and didn’t stop for a moment to realize him? Don’t be those people in Luke chapter 24. Be open to Him and keep your faith no matter what it looks like. We walk by faith and not by sight. Rest assured in that!!

Leave a comment